The Community Forests Program Advisory Committee evaluates grant proposals for the Community Forests Program.

The grants give communities a way to preserve their working forest heritage.


  • Live in Washington
  • Have an interest in public policy
  • Enjoy finding creative solutions and appreciate other perspectives


  • RCO will provide the training needed to evaluate grants
  • Stipends are available to eligible committee members

Time Commitment

  • 15-30 hours for written evaluation, completed remotely, every other summer (even years)
  • Policy feedback time commitment varies

2022 Dates

Evaluation Introduction MeetingJuly 28
Written EvaluationJuly 28 – August 18
Results Meeting August 31

Committee Members

Nonprofit and Land Trust Members

  • Cathy Baker, The Nature Conservancy
  • David Patton, The Trust for Public Land

Forest Industry and Other Organization Members

  • Jason Callahan, Green Diamond Resource Company
  • Matt Comisky, American Forest Resource Council
  • Daniel Wear, Northwest Community Forest Coalition

Tribal, Local, and State Agency Members

  • Laurie Benson, Department of Natural Resources
  • Phil Rigdon, Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation
  • Ray Entz, Kalispel Tribe of Indians
  • Loren Hiner, City of Montesano
  • Kate Dean, Jefferson County
  • Bob Bugert, Chelan County


  • No current vacancies

General Resources