The Nonhighway and Off-Road Vehicle Activities Program Advisory Committee evaluates grant proposals for projects that buy, develop, or maintain backcountry recreational areas or off-road vehicle parks. Projects also might educate trail users or provide law enforcement.


  • Live in Washington
  • Have an interest in public policy
  • Enjoy finding creative solutions and appreciate other perspectives
  • Have an interest in and experience with off-road activities


  • RCO will provide the training needed to evaluate grants
  • Stipends are available to eligible committee members

Time Commitment

  • 5 full days of virtual meetings every other winter (odd year)
  • 10-20 hours for written evaluation, completed remotely
  • Policy feedback time commitment varies

2023 Dates

Evaluation Introduction MeetingFebruary 3
E&E Written EvaluationFebruary 1 – March 3
NHR, NM, & ORV Evaluation MeetingFebruary 27 – March 3
Results MeetingMarch 9

Committee Members

Trail User Group Representatives

  • Kathy Doubt, Equestrian, Kent
  • Denise Garcia, Nonhighway road, Camano Island
  • Lance Hansen, All-terrain vehicle, Lynden
  • Richard Johnson, Nonhighway road, Sammamish
  • Brandon Lester, Mountain bicycling, Kirkland
  • Nichol Phillips, Four-wheel drive, Lake Tapps
  • John Spring, Nonhighway road, Mercer Island
  • Nancy Toenyan, Motorcycle, Mossyrock
  • Tripp Williams, Hiking, Seattle
  • Larissa Zens, Hiking, Spokane

Local and Federal Agency Members

  • Vacant, Local government,
  • Rosemary Seifried, Federal government, Winthrop

State Agency Members

  • Holly English, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Ellensburg
  • Andrea Martin, Department of Natural Resources, Olympia
  • Randy Kline, State Parks and Recreation Commission, Olympia