The Washington Wildlife and Recreation Program Habitat Restoration Advisory Committee evaluates grant proposals for conservation projects, primarily for restoration, in the Washington Wildlife and Recreation Program.

Evaluators score projects in the following grant categories:

Riparian Protection
These grants provide funding to protect riparian (shoreline) areas. Projects may include a wide variety of site conditions on either freshwater or saltwater. Projects must include property acquisition. Projects to extend shoreline protection for a minimum of twenty-five years on lands enrolled in the federal Conservation Enhancement Reserve Program are allowed.

State Lands Restoration and Enhancement
These grants provide funding to the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and the Washington Department of Natural Resources to repair damaged plant and animal habitat. Restoration projects must bring sites back to their original function through activities that will help the site be self-sustaining. Enhancement projects must improve the ecological functionality of a site.


  • Live in Washington
  • Have an interest in public policy
  • Enjoy finding creative solutions and appreciate other perspectives
  • Are interested in and knowledgeable about buying land for habitat, natural resource management, watershed management, biology, botany, ecology, forestry, geology, or zoology


  • RCO will provide the training needed to evaluate grants
  • Stipends are available to eligible committee members

Time Commitment

  • Two to four full days of virtual meetings every other summer (even years)
  • Six to twelve hours for written evaluation, completed remotely
  • Policy feedback time commitment varies

2024 Dates

SLR Written Technical ReviewMay 13 – June 5
Riparian Protection Technical Review MeetingMay 22-23
SLR Written EvaluationJuly 22 – August 13
Riparian Protection Evaluation MeetingAugust 12-13
Results MeetingAugust 16

Committee Members

  • Amy Bainbridge, Silverdale
  • Merci Clinton, Port Orchard
  • Matt Cochran, Spokane
  • Melanie Kitzan, North Bend
  • Mary Kline, Graham
  • Erin Lanum, Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe, Suquamish
  • Glen Mendel, Dayton
  • Frana Milan, City of Seattle, Seattle
  • Curt Pavola, Department of Natural Resources, Olympia
  • Arthur Salido, Yakima
  • Valeria Santiago, University Place
  • Debbie Rose, Seattle
  • Richard Tveten, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia
  • Cindy Wilson, Olympia