The Recreational Trails Program Advisory Committee evaluates grant proposals for projects that rehabilitate and maintain backcountry recreational trails and facilities.


  • Live in Washington
  • Have an interest in public policy
  • Enjoy finding creative solutions and appreciate other perspectives
  • Are interested in and knowledgeable about trails

Time Commitment

  • 15-30 hours for written evaluation, completed remotely
  • Attend one in-person meeting each year
  • Policy feedback time commitment varies


Travel reimbursement including lodging, transportation, and meals is available.

Committee Members

Citizen Members

  • Norris Boyd, Snowmobile, Newport
  • Michael Calkins, All-terrain vehicle, Seattle
  • Don Crook, Nonmotorized representative, water, Sammamish
  • James Hall, 4×4, Selah
  • Ethan Lockwood, Hiker, Ellensburg
  • Mat Lyons, Mountain bike, Wenatchee
  • Rusty Milholland, Citizen-at-large, Snoqualmie
  • James Morin, Off-road motorcycle, Olympia
  • Jim Thode, Equestrian, Onalaska
  • Pete Teigen, Citizen-at-large, Leavenworth

Local and Federal Agency Members

  • Zach Jarrett, Federal government, Portland, OR
  • Nicole Johnston, Local government, Anacortes

State Agency Members

  • Charlotte Claybrooke, Department of Transportation, Olympia
  • John Hansen, Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia
  • Janet Shonk, State Parks and Recreation, Olympia

Ex-Officio Members

  • Rick Judd, Federal Highway Administration, Olympia


  • No current vacancies

Term Length

4 years

General Resources